论坛: Open Discussion (Thread #44366)

Tomoyo-editpolicy (tomoyo-tools) segmentation fault (core dumped) (2021-07-09 08:40 by zeebra #87723)

I'm new to Tomoyo and currently learning it, so thanks for good manuals, providing a start/core to work with (learning mode) and learn from and "easy-to-implement" tools. I started out with tomoyo-tools-2.5, and had the same issue there as I have currently. My Kernel is new, so I wanted to/had to move to tomoyo-tools-2.6. Unlike 2.5, 2.6 was not provided by my distro. I have no issues installing from source, and I'm sure it would have worked just fine, but even better I could "rpmbuild", which made it even better for my setup.
There were basically no dependencies needed, so the installation was about as smooth as it could have been. This is a great advantage of tomoyo over SELinux at least. I've tried to force SELinux onto Slackware (python2) which was an outright mess and in the end it was not worth it. I can imagine the process would not have been much smoother on other systems either. Not sure about apparmor, but knowing where they come from, I'm pretty sure they must have some/alot of dependencies. Anyways, getting tomoyo up and running is a breeze, provided you know how to deal with the Kernel. It's so easy that I'm quite impressed by how minimalistic these tools are.

Anyways, I guess it could have something to do with the way things are described in the documentation or me misunderstanding something. But from the documentation it seems that you are suppose to use tomoyo-tools with /sys/* directory. Or suppose to be able to at least. But maybe I misunderstood, because I'm just getting segmentation fauls with tomoyo-tools when trying to do that. So I figured it would work around this "issue" and use tomoyo tools with /etc/tomoyo folder instead. But that might be how it is meant to be done in the first place. But if it is, might I suggest to make this more clear in the documentation please.